"Sleeping U" is an application for the iPhone, iPad and iPod Touch that monitors and records sleep. It is intended to be used by people who suspect that they are suffering from sleep disorders and snoring.
If you or your spouse is suffering from snoring, we suggest you try our application "Snoring U" (click for the App Store) which in addition to monitoring and recording your sleep, is able to produce gentle "nudges" whenever you sleep.
Sleeping U does not claim to be, nor intends to be, a medical or clinical application. It simply allows the user to record a long session of sleep and then view it in a graphical way and even listen to parts of it.
You need to place the iPhone or iPad as close as possible to your mouth, the noise source. The device can be placed on your bedside table or nightstand. If it's an iPhone you may consider placing it under your pillow or attached to an armband if you wish to use the vibration feature. Should you be worried about cellular radiation, the device could be switched to "Airplane Mode" before you go to sleep.
"Sleeping U" works even after the screen locks and the device goes into "sleep". It's actually designed to do that because it saves on the battery. We recommend that you connect your device to a charger but if your device is fully charged, you don't normally have to.
We also recommend that you kill all the heavy applications that may be running in the background (this is for iOS 4.x). This is done in the following way: Double click on the home button. The interface will slide up and reveal a second dock-like set of app icons "in the background". To kill an app, tap and hold the app until the icons begin to jiggle, then tap the minus symbol (-) at the top left corner. The app will then disappear, "deleted" from the background dock (but not from your device).
The Main Screen
The main screen shows as the "Monitor" tab. While you are in this tab, "Sleeping U" is constantly monitoring the noise. Before going to sleep, make sure that you press the green "Start" button and choose whether or not you want the whole sleep session to be recorded. Only then will Sleeping U actually start.The main screen will say that it is working (or monitoring) and tell you "Good Night". You will see the bubble moving in the noise tube and if Sleeping U is also recording, you'll also see a small icon of a microphone.
At any time during the night, you may stop Sleeping U from monitoring by pressing the red "Stop" button. You would then need to re-enable it by pressing the green "Start" button.
While Sleeping U is stopped, you may visit the "History" , "Settings", or "Help" screens by selecting the appropriate tab. If you do that you will need to get back to the main screen by selecting the "Monitor" tab in order to "Continue".
The History window displays a list of all the sessions that you have saved when using Sleeping U. By default each session is automatically saved and the sessions are listed so that the most recent one is at the top. Sessions that include a recording of the sound are designated with the small icon of a microphone. You may delete items from the list by selecting the "Edit" button and then pressing the button which is to the left of the date of the session. You will then need to confirm the deletion by clicking the "Delete" button.
You may get a full summary and see a graph of the session by selecting the button which is to the right of the date of the session. This will take you to the "Summary" window that provides some statistics and allows you to continue into the graph.
The graph shows you exactly how noisy or quiet your sleep session was. It allows you to zoom in and out (by tapping on the "+" and "-" buttons and to pan into specific areas by moving the graph (after you zoom in at least once) to the left or right with your finger.
If this is a session that includes a recording, you will be able to listen to the recording by tapping on the "Play" button that will appear at the bottom center of the graph. Playback will always start at the leftmost side of the visible graph and if not disturbed, will automatically stop at the rightmost side of the visible graph (length depending on your zoom level).
The "Send Mail" button allows you to send the data to send the data from the session by email. Currently, the email function does not support sending a sample of the recorded sound.
For support, please write to email@example.com
We are planning many improvements and plan to update the app frequently in the iTunes store.
2012 © PTech HM, Ltd.